ClassicalPopRockElectronicHip-hopJazzReggaeNot musicCountry and WorldFunkStageMilitaryBluesFor childrenLatinOther
» » Guided By Voices - Mag Earwhig!
Guided By Voices - Mag Earwhig! album download


Guided By Voices


Mag Earwhig!



MP3 album size:

1283 mb

Other music formats:



4.7 ✱


Indie Rock, Alternative Rock

Date of release:


Guided By Voices - Mag Earwhig! album download

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 Can't Hear The Revolution 1:36
A2 Sad If I Lost It 3:10
A3 I Am A Tree 4:40
A4 The Old Grunt 1:28
A5 Bulldog Skin 2:59
A6 Are You Faster? 1:13
A7 I Am Produced 1:06
A8 Knock 'Em Flyin'
Producer – John Croslin
A9 Not Behind The Fighter Jet 2:13
A10 Choking Tara 1:24
B1 Hollow Cheek 0:32
B2 Portable Men's Society 4:16
B3 Little Lines 2:02
B4 Learning To Hunt 2:24
B5 The Finest Joke Is Upon Us 3:08
B6 Mag Earwhig! 0:39
B7 Now To War 2:44
B8 Jane Of The Waking Universe
Producer – John Croslin
B9 The Colossus Crawls West 2:13
B10 Mute Superstar 1:24
B11 Bomb In The Bee-Hive 2:03

Companies, etc.

  • Copyright (c) – Matador Records
  • Phonographic Copyright (p) – Matador Records
  • Exclusive Retailer – Newbury Comics
  • Pressed By – GZ Media – 164385E


  • Performer [Additional Musician] – Chad Stanisic, Jim Pollard, Joe Buben, John Shough, Johnny Strange, Kevin Fennell, Mitch Mitchell , Tobin Sprout
  • Performer [Band Member] – Dave Swanson, Don Depew, Doug Gillard, John Petkovic, Robert Pollard
  • Written-By – Doug Gillard (tracks: A3), J. Pollard* (tracks: A6, A7), Robert Pollard (tracks: A1, A2, A4 to A10, B1 to B11), Tobin Sprout (tracks: A6)


Newbury Comics exclusive colored vinyl. Limited to 500. Gatefold jacket, lyrics printed on the inside of gatefold.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Text, Sticker On Shrink): 7 44861 02410 1
  • Barcode (Text, Back of Jacket): 7 77861 02411 8
  • Matrix / Runout (Side A Stamped): OLE 241-1 164385E1/A
  • Matrix / Runout (Side B Stamped): OLE 241-1 164385E2/A

Other versions

Category Artist Title (Format) Label Category Country Year
OLE 241-2 Guided By Voices Mag Earwhig! ‎(CD, Album) Matador OLE 241-2 US 1997
OLE 241-2 Guided By Voices Mag Earwhig! ‎(CD, Album, RE) Matador OLE 241-2 US Unknown
OLE 241-4 Guided By Voices Mag Earwhig! ‎(Cass, Album) Matador OLE 241-4 US 1997
OLE 241-1 Guided By Voices Mag Earwhig! ‎(LP, Album, RE) Matador OLE 241-1 US 2018
OLE 241-1 Guided By Voices Mag Earwhig! ‎(LP, Album, Gat) Matador OLE 241-1 US 1997

Matters came to a head prior to the recording of Mag Earwhig! as Pollard broke ties with longtime guitarist and fellow songwriter Tobin Sprout and fired the rest of the group. While Pollard and Sprout soon buried the hatchet, Sprout opted not to stay on as a full-time member of the group, and Pollard was now Guided By Voices' uncontested leader. He hired Cleveland-based blues/garage rockers Cobra Verde as his backing band for the next GBV album, and Mag Earwhig! sounded a good bit different as a result; while there were a few stray four-track experiments with Sprout scattered about, most.

Tracks 22 and 23 are bonus tracks not included on the original US version of the album. Tracks 3, 5, 9, 12, 13, 17, 20, 21 & 22 engineered at 609, Cleveland; produced by everyone involved. Tracks 2, 4, 10, 11, 14 to 16 & 19 recorded at Cro-Magnon, Dayton. Tracks 8,18 & 23 produced and engineered at Refraze, Dayton. Tracks 1, 6 & 7 recorded on 8-track. Inspiration for "Portable Men's Society" by Buffalo Beerwax. Thanks to The Small Faces (Extras in The Film).

The Guided by Voices discography includes dozens of releases, both official and unofficial. Robert Pollard, the main creative force behind the band, is an extremely prolific songwriter, having written or co-written more than 1,600 songs, with over 500 of them released under the Guided by Voices moniker.

Jane of the Waking Universe, 02:25. The Colossus Crawls West, 02:13. Mute Superstar, 01:24. Bomb In the Bee-Hive, 02:03.

Mag Earwhig!, 17. Now To War, 18. Jane Of The Waking Universe, 19. The Colossus Crawls West, 20. Mute Superstar, 21. Bomb In The Bee-Hive. 14. Learning To Hunt. 15. The Finest Joke Is Upon Us. 16. Mag Earwhig!.

Redirected from Mag Earwhig). Mag Earwhig! is a 1997 album release by indie rock band Guided by Voices. Following the dissolution of the group's "classic" lineup, band-leader Robert Pollard recruited Cleveland group Cobra Verde as his backing band, while retaining the Guided by Voices name.

MP3 FLAC related to Guided By Voices - Mag Earwhig!